• About
  • Chairman
  • Programms Offered
  • Faculty
  • Research
  • Events
  • Photo Gallary
  •             Kannada Bharati Established in 1973 is the oldest Department and the only Institute in Kuvempu University. It has so for conducted 32 Seminars, 10 folk performing Art Festivals and 4 UGC Sponsored Refresher Courses. It has published 30 books. It has also constructed Kailasam Rangamandira for the benefit of the public also. All the eight faculty members of the Institute are Doctorate degree holders and have successfully guided 50 Ph.D.. and 30 M.Phil Students and they have published books papers. successfully completed Research Projects, engaged in teaching and extension activities. They are members of State and National Level Professional bodies and received honors and distinctions. Kannda Bharati has established Folklore Museum which is developed with the Grant of 8 Lakhs from the Ministry of Culture, Government of India. There is a Kannada Computer Centre Sponsored by the Infosys Foundation with a grant of Rs. 5 Lakhs. Sahitya Sangha and Janapada Kala Koota have organized many programmes for the past 32 years. There is a Department Library consisting of 3,000 books donated by Kannada scholars. Institute of Kannada Studies has also received a Grant Rs. 14 Lakhs to conduct Research on Modern Kannada literature from UGC under Special Assistance Programme during 2004-2005.

  • Name of the Department    Department of Studies and Research in Kannada - Kannada Bharati
    Year of Establishment        1983
    Name of the Chairman      
    Address of the Department Department of Studies & Research in Kannada
    Centenary Block
    Jnanasahyadri, Shankaraghatta ? 577451
    Phone: +91(0)8282-257634, 257107  Fax:  08282-256255
    e-mail: kannada@kuvempu.ac.in
  • Programmes Nature & Duration Eligibility Intake
    M.A.        CBCS- Semester Scheme            Two Years B.A. Degree with Kannada major subject 49
    M.Phil One year M.A., in Kannada  

    Five Years

    M.A., in Kannada 5 students per Lecturer
  • Sl.No. Name Qualification Designation Area  of  Specialisation
    1 Prof. Keshava Sharma K M.A., Ph.D Professor Kannada Literature and Modern Criticism
    2 Dr. Shivananda Kelagnamani M.A., Ph.D. Professor Modern Kannada literature, Vachana Sahithya, Janapada, Sahitya Samskruthi, and Literary Criticism
    3 Dr. Prashantha Nayaka G Result M.A,Ph.D Professor Modern Kannada Literature and Literary Criticism Result
    4 Dr. Nellikatte. S. Siddesh M.A., M.Ed.,PGDJ.,Ph.D Assistant Professor Modern Kannada literature and Literary Criticism and Kannada Culture
  • Research Projects
    Sl.No. Title Funding Agency Principal Investigator Co-Investigator Amount Status
    1 A cultura; Studay of Nellikatte Village Kuvempu University Dr. Nellikatte. S. Siddesh - 45000 completed
    2 A Cultural studya of Chalavadi community in the state of Karnataka UGC Dr. Nellikatte. S. Siddesh - 541000 completed
    3 Ambedkar mattu Adhytma Kuvempu University Dr. Nellikatte. S. Siddesh - 45000 completed
    4 Kuvempu kavya padavivaranakosha Karnataka state government Dr. Prashantha Nayaka G Result 2500000 complete
    5 Kannada chalana chitrageethegalu: sree samanyana baduku:samskruthika savalu UGC Dr. Prashantha Nayaka G Result 593200 Ongoing
    Research Scholars
    Sl.No. Faculty Name of the Supervisor Name of the Ph.D. Scholar with Aadhaar number/Photo ID Mode of Ph.D. Registration Number Date of Registration Research Topic Likely date of completion of Ph.D Availing Fellowship Funding Agency of Fellowship
    1 Dr. Shivananda Kelagnamani Dr. Gururaj Navalagund 0000-00-00 Madhya kaalina Karnatakadalli Ayagarike 0000-00-00 0
    2 Dr. Shivananda Kelagnamani Nandini R 80/26/02/ 0000-00-00 H. Devirappanavara Saahityadalli Ashaya mattu Vinyasa 0000-00-00 0
    3 Dr. Shivananda Kelagnamani Manjunath Sunagar 81/26/02/2 0000-00-00 Pragatisheela Kathegalalli Uliagamanya vyavaste mattu pratibhatane 0000-00-00 0
    4 Dr. Shivananda Kelagnamani Baragurappa 0000-00-00 Aravinda Malagatti avara vibhinna nelegalu 0000-00-00 0
    5 Dr. Shivananda Kelagnamani ashwini b c 0000-00-00 Kannada strivadi viamarsheya swaroopa 0000-00-00 0
    6 Dr. Shivananda Kelagnamani Malatesha Pujar 0000-00-00 Virashaiva Puranagalalli Dalitavargada Sharanaru 0000-00-00 0
    7 Dr. Prashantha Nayaka G Result Umesha K 93 0000-00-00 kanakapragne: vivitha madarigalu 0000-00-00 0
    8 Dr. Prashantha Nayaka G Result Sreebasava marulasidda swamiji 87 0000-00-00 kannadasahithyadalli guru-linga-jangama parikalpane 0000-00-00 0
    9 Dr. Prashantha Nayaka G Result Ranadhir 153 0000-00-00 Noorondu viraktharu mathu veerashaiva dharma : samskruthika adyayana 0000-00-00 0
    10 Dr. Prashantha Nayaka G Result Mahendra T M 154 0000-00-00 Ramachandra charitha purana mathu sree ramayana dharshanam mahakavyagalu: thoulanika adhyayana 0000-00-00 0
    11 Dr. Prashantha Nayaka G Result Vijayakumara N S 309 0000-00-00 Puttanna kanagal nidreshanada kadambari adharitha chalana chitragalu 0000-00-00 0
    12 Dr. Prashantha Nayaka G Result Manjunatha M 308 0000-00-00 Bharathisutha avara kadambarigalalli mahile 0000-00-00 0
  • Title Level Year Funding Agency
    Seminar on Moodalapaya Yakshagana Samavesha Hagu Modalapaya Yakshagana Pradarshana National 2006 University
    Seminar on Suvarna Karnataka : Land, Language, Literature and Culture National 2007 University
    Seminar on Sillekyatara Beteya Vidhanagalu Local 2007 University